Death & Grief

HomeResourcesDeath & Grief
title shadow image


Bereavement – The period of mourning and intense grief after the death of a loved one. It often results in a great longing for the deceased and a period of adjustment which may take years.

Grief – The deep or intense sorrow or distress felt after a loss, especially if the loss involves the death of a loved one. The grief process is individual to each person and is an essential part of healing.

Disenfranchised grief – Grief that cannot be openly expressed due to personal or societal standards. In these situations, grief can become extremely confusing and internalizing.

Situations that may result in disenfranchised grief include:

  • An extra-marital relationship with the deceased
  • A samesex relationship with the deceased that was not made known to family and friends
  • Suicide
  • Homicide that occurs at the hands of another family member
  • Murder-suicide deaths

Anyone who has suffered a loss may experience the five stages of grief:

  • Denial – An inability to accept what has happened. It is common to feel that what happened is all just a bad dream.
  • Anger – Wondering why this is happening feeling that life is unfair.
  • Bargaining – Attempting to negotiate for an extended life by making promises.
  • Depression – Feeling too sad to do anything; sorrow comes to the forefront.
  • Acceptance – Coming to terms with and accepting what has happened.

Not everyone will experience all five stages, and the stages may be experienced in any order.

Chatham-Kent Victim Services

24 Third St

Chatham, ON N7M 5K5

519-436-6630 |

Chatham-Kent Hospice: 519-354-3113 extension 2406

VON Kids Circle’ Grief Program: 519-354-0430 extension 291
Bereaved Families of Ontario – Southwest Region: 519-686-1573

Canadian Mental Health Association Crisis Line: 519-436-6100

home shadow image

If you require support, contact our office at 519.436.6630

If you are experiencing an emergency, dial 911 for immediate assistance.

home shadow image